Ezra Collective

The London jazz scene keeps producing amazing new talent. The quintet Ezra Collection is one of the many ensembles that are reinvigorating the journey that is enjoying a rebirth throughout the UK. Combining solid hard-bop horns with deep grooves of hip-hop and afrobeats (with a hint of reggae at times), Ezra Collective is a prime example of jazz’s resurgence.

The five-piece group is comprised of Dylan Jones (trumpet), James Mollison ( tenor sax), Joe Armon-Jones (piano ), and brothers TJ Koleoso (bass) and Femi Koleoso (drums). The group’s first release was a 5-track vinyl EP, Chapter 7, released in 2016. Sweeping through Europe and the UK, the band began to get attention for their energetic live shows, including a highly praised gig at the legendary Ronnie Scotts.

In 2017, the group’s second vinyl EP, Juan Pablo: The Philosopher was released and earned high praise, including Best Jazz Album at Gilles Peterson’s esteemed Worldwide Awards in January 2018. Cherwell raves “Juan Pablo: The Philosopher places Ezra Collective as one of the most exciting bands on the current UK jazz scene....this band should be seen, as well as heard.”